I love love love the ocean

In yesterday’s post while talking about my friends’ summer trip to the East coast, I got thinking about how pretty much every trip I have ever taken was contingent on being near a sea or an ocean. I feel alive and joyful any time I’m able to gaze out over a large body of water. Maybe I’ll come back as a mermaid in my next life? For now, I’m content with seaside trips whenever I can afford to take them. Here’s a poem I wrote that captures my feelings about the sea/ocean.

The Meaning Of Contentment

Nothing compares

 

To the gentle chafing

of powdered grains

underfoot

as scarlet shadows

tiptoe quietly

across an umber sky.

 

 

To the scent of salt

as the ocean sighs

and sends her mighty breath

to kiss my neck

and caress the fronds

of silhouetted palms,

bent in humble servitude

before their

omnipotent mistress.

 

 

To the whitecaps

as they wave goodbye, then—

 

with a tender push,

send their young

to ripple out on their own,

 

washing themselves

upon my toes

like frothy liquid joy.

 

 

 

1 Comment

  1. Nora Ohanjanians said,

    September 26, 2014 at 12:50 am

    I had no idea you were so creative on so many fronts, Donna. That’s amazing. I share your love and fascination of water. I think I was a sea animal in my previous life. I somehow feel I belong in it 🙂

    I love your blog. It inspires me to start my own. Thanks for sharing.

    Like


I would love to hear from you!

