Another crocheted shawl, y’all!

shawl_peacock1I’m on a roll these days making shawls, just because I enjoy the challenge of watching them evolve. I have to say that so far, this one is my favourite.

I bought the yarn down in Florida at Hobby Lobby and I wish I’d kept the label so I could tell you the name of it. It was one large ball—I’m guessing around 400 yards—and once I’d finished making the shawl and the fringe, there was literally nothing left but a two-inch long piece of yarn. So it was the perfect amount for this pattern.

shawl_peacock2It’s a simple mesh design and the variegated colours remind me of peacock feathers, thus the name of my shawl. I’m finding shawls to be a nice alternative to wearing cardigans; just throw one over your shoulders when it gets cool. And you can drape them in different ways that really look fashionable.

Without further adieu, here’s the pattern:

Peacock Triangular Shawl

Approx. 400 yards of a chenille-type variegated yarn, 5.5 mm hook

Chain 5; slip stitch to first chain to make a ring.

R1: Chain 4 (counts as beginning chain-3 plus chain-1);
1 dc in ring; (ch 1, dc) two more times; turn.

R2: Ch 4; dc in same stitch; (ch 1, skip next ch, 1 dc in next dc) across to last dc; ch 1; (1 dc, ch 1, 1 dc) in top of beginning ch-3; turn.

R3 & remaining rows: Repeat R2. Continue repeating R2 until
desired width. Fasten off and weave in ends.

Make desired length of fringe along edges (here’s a link to an easy step-by-step on how to make fringe: http://www.dummies.com/how-to/content/how-to-add-fringe-to-crochet.html). I cut a 16” length of yarn and folded it for an 8” fringe.
shawl_peacock4

shawl_peacock5shawl_peacock6

3 Comments

  1. April 22, 2015 at 1:36 am

    The long fringe really adds to the overall look. I think it’s my favourite so far as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. April 21, 2015 at 9:31 pm

    I love a variegated yarn that has a long repeat, more unusual, but creates a lovely design. The color combo of this is especially nice, attractive on most everyone!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Paul said,

    April 21, 2015 at 3:52 pm

    Wow that looks amazing!

    Liked by 1 person


I would love to hear from you!

