Come with me. Hold my hand and let’s take one step forward today.

if you are sad
if you are angry
if you are sick
if you are lost
if you are alone
if you are confused
if you are frustrated

No matter your complaint

Stop for a moment,
step away from yourself.

Then take one step forward.
Lift your chin
and appreciate the quiet expanse
of the sky above you.sky

Focus on the wondrousness
of a thing so simple,
a thing that is there
even on all the days you don’t see it.

Give thanks for the miracle of your eyes.
They allow you to see a sky
that many can only try to imagine.

Breathe deeply of the air that sustains you.
Basic. Base. There.
Such a blessingforest Path
to enjoy the simple act of breathing
without a thought, without a struggle.

Kneel to the ground
and smell the rich aroma of the earth
that supports you.
Draw up and fill your lungs
with flora, with fresh laundry,
with the scents of life
that ride on the breezes.
This gift. This blessing

Move those limbs that you can move.
Do you have legs?
Can you walk, run, jump, twirl?
Do you have arms, hands, fingers?
Can you clap them, flex them, write your name in the air?
Can you reach for the sky?
Rejoice in these simple freedoms
that so many must live without.

Who are you (you are thinking)bougainvillea
to sermonize to me
about counting my blessings?

Well
I, too, am guilty
of the human disease
called unmindful existence.
Called ingratitude-itis.

So today is the day
I will step away from myself,
take one step forward,
acknowledge how very blessed I am.

I have eyes that allow me to see
all that is right in front of me,
and awareness to clear my vision.

I can see.bird tree
I can feel.
I can breathe.
I can walk.
I can speak.
I can hear.
I can taste.
I can eat.
I can drink.
I can forgive.
I can love.
I can choose.
I can imagine.
I can make a difference.
I can hope.
For hope is always there
just waiting for you to believe.

I can walk outside
and I can look up at the infinite sky
and I can marvel at the magical synthesis
that produces such an astonishing shade of blue.

I can stand on land
that spreads in every direction
and know that it is possibleorange
to go anywhere I want to go.

I can peel an orange
and eat the flesh
and when the juice runs over my chin
I can splash cool water on my face
and feel grateful that the simplest things in life
are also some of the most magnificent.

The sadness, the anger, the frustration …
it will come, it will go, it will still be there.

But so will the simple blessings.

sunsetTake a step forward today with me.

6 Comments

  1. Rahma said,

    May 10, 2015 at 12:18 am

    wow! Create-A-Holic Writer this is one of your best posts! Thank you very much for posting, and you are a fantastic writer!!! Keep writing things like that!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nora said,

    May 9, 2015 at 7:38 pm

    Hear, hear. I couldn’t agree more, and I love your term ingratitude-itis. It’s a zinger 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sheila Davidson said,

    May 9, 2015 at 1:06 pm

    So much truth in what you said, especially when times are tough!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. greg1948 said,

    May 8, 2015 at 5:13 pm

    You can get through the day easier counting your blessings rather than counting your problems; though, one big atomic problem can blast away all the simple little blessings. I speak rhetorically, and not about myself. This took more than 30 minutes to do, I’ll wager. I noticed one little thing–it does not rhyme!

    (just kidding!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • May 8, 2015 at 5:22 pm

      I’ve found that for the most part, the atomic problem eventually has a solution and it always seems to become something to look back at someday from afar. The whole concept flooded my mind yesterday while I was looking out my window at the sky. I wrote it yesterday during my lunch hour, so yes, it did take more than 30 minutes!! 🙂

      Like

  5. May 8, 2015 at 3:08 pm

    Beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person


I would love to hear from you!

