Say hello to my little friend … Ricky Raccoon!

quilt_racoon1 copyOver the past several years, greedy developers—green-lighted by their equally greedy politico buddies—have claimed pretty much every square inch of green space in our municipality in order to overload it with conglomerations of bricks and mortar that, naturally, flow rivers of $$$ straight into their pockets.

Of course, all the animals that once called those green spaces home are now refugees, forced to forage for food in urban neighborhood garbage bins while trying to survive among a human populace that doesn’t want them here.

I have always believed that those developers who destroy wild animal habitats should be required by law to use a portion of their windfall to relocate these animals back into the undeveloped areas north of the city (that they, the developers, haven’t got their hooks into yet).

Recently a friend of mine was doing a lot of complaining about a family of raccoons trying to take up residence in his backyard shed and constantly knocking over his garbage cans to root through them.

quilt_racoon2 copyAnyone who knows me also knows that I have a pretty warped sense of humor. I had no choice but to make him a raccoon mini wall quilt.

When I gave it to him, he put his head in his hands and I think he wanted to throttle me. But he did keep it. And I think he’s even grown to like it a little. 🙂 When he has a grandchild, it will make a wonderful blankee, and that’s when he’ll finally be able to get rid of it.

As for the raccoons in his backyard? He made some calls to Animal Control and they captured them humanely and relocated them north, with no expense to the mega-rich developers of course.

Ricky Raccoon was fun to make. I used a line drawing of a raccoon that I found in a child’s colouring book and made applique pattern pieces from it. I cut the pieces from some fabric remnants I had in my cupboard and laid them out on a plain white fabric background, then zigzag stitched around them on my sewing machine. Next I sandwiched in some batting and chose a black and white floral fabric for the back, and lastly, used black binding to finish the edges and two big buttons for the eyes. I think the whole project took me a couple of hours on a Saturday afternoon.

The lesson from this story: Don’t complain to me about the refugee animals in your backyard because I do feel sorry for them (even though I don’t particularly want them in my yard either).

You just might end up stuck with a quilted skunk or raccoon or possum to hang on your wall. 🙂

2 Comments

  1. May 22, 2015 at 3:09 am

    Hmmmm, what can I complain about? How about chocolate cake?😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jumpyjess said,

    May 20, 2015 at 8:48 pm

    Ricky Raccoon is looking great! 😀

    Liked by 1 person


I would love to hear from you!

