Purrsday Poetry: Monkey by Donna Marrin

Otis has made another guest appearance at Katzenworld!

Katzenworld

Hi everyone,

Today’s Purrsday Poetry post comes from Donna Marrin.

oats & monkey3

Monkey

I was just an itty bitty boy,
When Gran made me a special toy,
A monkey made from bits of sock,
Companion, though he couldn’t talk.
 

Monkey shared my trundle bed,
His tail curled ‘round my sleepy head,
Kept the boogey men at bay,
All through the night, till break of day.

 One morning Mr. Puss, our cat,
Chewed the tassel clean from Monkey’s hat,
Carried it to his hiding place,
Left a ragged hole near Monkey’s face.
 

Grandma cooed and dried my tears,
Eased my heart of all its fears,
Was Monkey now in awful pain?
Would he ever be the same again?
 

When I awakened from my nap,
Monkey wore a brand new cap,
Fresh tassel of red upon his head,
Fixed up and propped upon my bed.
 

I squealed with joy…

View original post 74 more words

2 Comments

  1. August 21, 2015 at 4:17 pm

    This is just so cute! And I have to say, Otis is so patient. He’s probably cringing knowing Hallowe’en is around the corner with crafty costumes on their way 😁

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Erica Herd said,

    August 21, 2015 at 3:52 pm

    Adorable!

    Liked by 1 person


I would love to hear from you!

