Crocheted Jingle Bells Tablet Clutch

Yes, I know that summer’s barely over and here I am talking about jingle bells! But I felt like working on something quick and easy and I thought I’d make something fun to use during the here-before-you-know-it Christmas season.

bag_clutch jingle bells1I just used a basic ripple pattern, alternating red and white yarn. Instead of using buttons, I sewed on little jingle bells and made crocheted loops to fasten over them.

Très festive, oui?

Here’s the pattern I used, along with a 5.5 mm hook, one ball each of red worsted weight and white worsted weight yarns.

Using red yarn, chain 28 (or whatever the width of your tablet)

Row 1: 2 single crochet (sc) in second chain from hook; *sc in each of the next 7 chains (ch); skip 1 ch; sc in each of the next 7 ch; 3 sc in next ch; repeat from * across to the end. In the last ch, work 2 sc.

Row 2: Ch 1; 2 sc in first st; *sc in each of next 7 sts; skip 2 sc; sc in each of next 7 sts; 3 sc in next st; repeat from * across to the end. In the last st, work 2 sc.

Repeat Row 2, changing colours after every 3 rows.

bag_clutch jingle bells2Once you have a block that’s large enough to fold and contain your tablet, sc right around all edges to finish it neatly. Then fold it into a clutch shape, and on wrong side, stitch together side seams. Sew 3 little jingle bells in place as shown in photo, then use sc to make 3 loops (see photo for placement) for fastening over bells.

I’m never certain that my instructions are clear enough, so as back up, here’s a great free pattern for a crochet clutch in the same ripple pattern at a wonderful crochet site called Fiber Flux; here’s the link: http://www.fiberfluxblog.com/2014/01/free-crochet-patterngraphic-chevron.html

8 Comments

  1. ekandanga said,

    October 12, 2015 at 6:46 am

    this is so cute!! 😀 love!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Becky said,

    October 12, 2015 at 1:12 am

    Love the idea. I’ve already made a tiny bag for a friend’s birthday. Thanks for the inspiration!

    Liked by 1 person

    • October 13, 2015 at 12:48 pm

      I’ve found clutch bags to be so much fun to make. They’re quick to make and you can experiment with different stitches. Plus, who doesn’t need an extra bag? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. October 11, 2015 at 9:49 pm

    Clever clutch!!
    No harm in thinking about Christmas outfits early. And afterall, it takes a wee bit of time to make so it’s not really too early to consider. I am mildly annoyed by shops with Christmas music and decorations out before Halloween though 😉 It’s such a special time of year, so keep it to that ‘time of year’ me thinks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • October 13, 2015 at 12:46 pm

      I agree. Believe it or not, I noticed some stores displaying Christmas stuff at the beginning of September this year. Before you know it, they’ll have it out year-round!

      Like

  4. October 8, 2015 at 6:28 pm

    I have never put the Christmas tree up before Halloween before, but I have done it before Thanksgiving. A clutch is a purse if I am not mistaken. I don’t carry too many of those around, but at Christmas you can get away with a lot. Not strong enough to carry a cat in. Colorful however.

    Like

    • October 8, 2015 at 8:03 pm

      haha–you’ve inspired me to think about what kind of bag I can design to comfortably carry my cat around in! :)))

      Like

  5. October 7, 2015 at 4:30 pm

    Very cute. As much as I hate rushing the season in, I have to admit that I’ve started dabbling in my reds & greens as well.

    Liked by 1 person


I would love to hear from you!

