The Cat in the Christmas Tree Hat (is not a very happy cat)

If you’re a knit- or crochet-a-holic and you share an abode with a cat, you may have discovered that your cat delights in watching you work your magic with your needles/hook and yarn.

xmas tree hat for catBut if your cat is like my Otis—strongly averse to being dressed in tiny outfits with matching accessories—certain needlework projects have the capacity to make his back arch, his fur stand on end, and cause a mighty scrambling of paws as … away he flies like the down on a thistle.

And what sort of project would prompt that kind of reaction?

wearing his new xmas tree hat5

Giving me a dirty look.

If you guessed a cat hat, you’re absolutely right!

So now guess what I made for Otis.

I discovered the most adorable crochet pattern for a tiny tabletop Christmas tree at a really cool crochet and craft site called Pops de Milk. But instead of using it as an ornament, I imagined instead how festive it would look on top of Otis’s bare little head. 🙂

wearing his new xmas tree hat4

If cats could swear…

You can find the SO easy-to-make pattern at this link: http://popsdemilk.com/crochet-christmas-tree-buttons-2/) I used emerald-green worsted weight yarn and a 4 mm hook, and left it hollow instead of crocheting a base. I finished the bottom edge with one round of single-crochet in red yarn, then chained a strap just long enough to fit under his chin and button up on the other side to keep the hat from falling off. (Until it’s been stubbornly shaken off, that is.)

Then after digging through my cupboard of notions for some buttons and a string of tiny decorative Christmas lights, I sewed everything onto the tree. The entire project was completed in an evening.

Otis was only very briefly willing to model his new Christmas Tree hat, and I had to pay him afterward with treats. Monkey is now the new owner.

wearing his new xmas tree hat3wearing his new xmas tree hat1xmas tree hat on monkey

11 Comments

  1. f1014 said,

    February 20, 2016 at 4:15 pm

    Taking the mickey out of him! Well, well, well. Not done with his lordship Otis 😉 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nora Ohanjanians said,

    December 15, 2015 at 3:17 am

    I’m surprised he remained calm enough for you to take all those pictures. I could never do that to my cats 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. December 14, 2015 at 3:43 am

    Awww – poor ol’ Otis. I’m sure part of his expression is due to you howling with laughter. 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. amariesilver said,

    December 11, 2015 at 2:28 am

    LOVE it!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. December 11, 2015 at 1:03 am

    I think it ix a great hat

    Liked by 1 person

  6. December 11, 2015 at 12:23 am

    Hahahaha I love this!!! Thank you so much for making the tree and sharing your story 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • December 11, 2015 at 3:03 pm

      Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful pattern! I think there may be a few more cats wearing Christmas Tree hats this season! 🙂

      Like

  7. Erica Herd said,

    December 10, 2015 at 9:18 pm

    Adorable hat. Too bad he can’t appreciate it. My cats do not like being dressed up either, even for the holidays.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. December 10, 2015 at 7:52 pm

    Haha Otis is so cute in it. Thanks for the link. I think I’m going to try and crochet one for my kitty and see if she will wear it long enough to get a photo. Your kitty is so gorgeous

    Liked by 2 people

    • December 10, 2015 at 9:52 pm

      Thanks! I hope you have better luck than I did. :)) I’m hoping I can get it to stay on his head for longer than 3 seconds on Christmas day…

      Liked by 1 person


I would love to hear from you!

