Be Happy

firefly in a jarFireflies are

little bits of happiness bobbing about,
warm clouds of golden winks.

You yearn to catch one,
you run forward,
you reach out with both hands.

You capture the warm glow,
cup it gently in your fingers,
marvel at the wonder of it.

You try to hold onto it for as long as you can.

Inevitably the glow will fade.
You know it can’t last forever.

But there will be more fireflies,
another day.

Happiness.

Little bits of it are all around you.

It winks at you like fireflies.
It’s up to you to reach out and capture it
every chance you get.

It’s your move.

4 Comments

  1. March 26, 2016 at 12:46 am

    No fireflies here on my wee island, but oodles, bushels, and pecks of happiness surround me! Beautiful poem, beautiful thoughts. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. March 17, 2016 at 10:11 pm

    I still enjoy watching them dance outside at our cottage. Brings back childhood memories.

    Like

  3. Nora said,

    March 17, 2016 at 2:28 am

    Hear! Hear!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. March 16, 2016 at 11:34 pm

    I would punch holes in a mason jar lid with a hammer and nail. Then I would put the fireflys in the jar, but I would eventually let them go. I don’t see any here where I live now at all–ever. I wonder why.

    Liked by 1 person


I would love to hear from you!

