My children’s story has been published!


When my daughter was little, we would make weekly trips to the public library to borrow stacks of picture books for bedtime reading. The story that Jennifer loved best of all happened to be the one that I had written just for her. It was about a little sprite of a girl named Abigail Bugsby, and we read it together many, many times over the years.

Contributor’s section

When Our Canada magazine, published by Reader’s Digest, called for submissions of children’s stories, I dug my Abigail Bugsby story out of storage, dusted it off, and sent it in. Lo and behold, the editor at Our Canada chose to publish it in their August/September 2017 issue, complemented with artwork by their talented illustrator, Bill Suddick.

If you would like a printed copy of Abigail Bugsby to read to your kids or grandkids, pick up a copy of Our Canada magazine, which you’ll find on newsstands across Canada this month. I have a subscription for a variety of digital magazines through Texture, and it’s in there too. Here are pictures of the original version I wrote (and illustrated) for Jennifer. My drawings were quick and rough, so it was a real treat to see Bill Suddick’s visual interpretation of Abigail!

5 Comments

  1. AZ said,

    August 13, 2017 at 9:18 pm

    Hello Donna! I just picked up the magazine and had a look. Well done! I’ll be reading it to may grand-kids
    next weekend. All the best!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sheila davidson said,

    July 28, 2017 at 1:03 pm

    Congratulations Donna !!!!

    So exciting to see your work published.

    I’ll have to pick up a copy and get you to sign it.

    Way to go….very proud of you.

    Sheila 💐

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  3. July 28, 2017 at 3:04 am

    Congratulations! It is very cute!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. July 27, 2017 at 11:54 pm

    OMG!!!!!! That’s fantastic!!! Congratulations!!! You must be so thrilled!!!

    Liked by 1 person


I would love to hear from you!

