My painting of Jelly Bean Row

Have you ever heard of Jelly Bean Row? It’s a quaint street lined with colourful row houses in downtown St. John’s, Newfoundland.

Some friends of mine spent their summer vacation in Newfoundland and came back with so many wonderful stories and photos of the vibrant scenery and friendly people there but one of their favourite excursions was their walk along Jelly Bean Row.

Now I’m Canadian, born and raised, but I’ve never traveled in my own country, outside of my home province of Ontario. Sure I’ve seen Mexico, the Caribbean, and the southern U.S.—places I can fly to in under five hours and be surrounded by white sand, turquoise water, and waiters who bring me drinks with little umbrellas in them—but I’ve yet to explore my homeland.

These friends of mine know I’m a create-a-holic, so they brought back a really interesting flat rock from a beach in Newfoundland and asked if I would agree to paint Jelly Bean Row on it. As if I could turn down a challenge like that?

I thought the job would be easier than it was (don’t we always think so before we begin a craft?!), but I have to say I am pleased with the final results even though they’re far from perfect.

Here’s a picture of the gorgeous hand-painted mailbox (by artist D. Bird) featuring Jelly Bean Row that my friends’ kids brought back for me as a gift for looking after their cat while they were away. And right beside it sits the rock I painted. If you look closely, I used tiny crystals for the doorknobs.

Newfoundland is now definitely on my bucket list of future trips to take!

newfoundland row houses1 newfoundland row houses2

I would love to hear from you!

