I’m ready for a little warm & fuzzy about now

Had enough of winter yet?

As I posted on my Facebook page last week, whenever I start bitching about this cold weather (something I’m guilty of doing way too often) I am assaulted by visions of the early pioneers dragging their frozen asses outside at dawn every morning to manually milk their herd…Which makes me pause to thank God I was born during an era of high-efficiency furnaces and indoor desk jobs.

Being the ungrateful person that I am, it’s not long before I push the visions out of my head and launch into a fresh torrent of bitching because dang it! my hands are frozen and my three layers of socks just aren’t cutting it.

I’m a reincarnated Hawaiian trapped in a Canadian’s body. Definitely.

I’ve heard that a lot of body heat escapes from the top of an uncovered head, so I got busy crocheting myself a warm & fuzzy hat. I love it so much I’ve been wearing it inside the house (a protestation of my husband’s refusal to crank the thermostat). Frozen wife = short fuse.

This basic hat is ideal for beginning crocheters. Here’s how:

hat_brown2

Warm & Fuzzy Hat

9 mm hook; Bernat Soft Boucle in Earth Shades

Ch 4; sl st to make a ring.

Rnd 1: Ch 1; single crochet (sc) 8 times into ring (do not join; use a marker and continue to crochet in spirals).

Rnd 2: 2 sc in each stitch around (16 sc)

Rnd 3: *1 sc in next stitch; 2 sc in next stitch; repeat from * around.

Rnd 4: *1 sc in each of next 2 stitches; 2 sc in next stitch; repeat from * around.

Rnd 5: *1 sc in each of next 3 stitches; 2 sc in next stitch; repeat from * around.

Rnd 6: *1 sc in each of next 4 stitches; 2 sc in next stitch; repeat from * around.

Rnd 7: *1 sc in each of next 11 stitches; 2 sc in next stitch; repeat from * around.

Rnd 8-21: 1 sc in each stitch around.

Rnd 22: Ch 2 (counts as dc); 1 dc in each stitch around; join with a slip stitch to close.

Rnd 23: Repeat round 22.

Rnd 24: Ch 1; 1 sc in each stitch around; join with a slip stitch to close. Fasten off.

Roll up the brim and enjoy!

hat_brown1

 

 

Wearing my new hat in the basement.

I would love to hear from you!

